Giveaway: Across the East River Bridge by Kate McMurray

We’re joined today by author Kate McMurray, who has a spooky new book out. Take it away, Kate!

AERB coverI’m agnostic about ghosts.

I spent nearly every summer of my childhood at summer camp. The last one I attended had legends about ghosts who lived in the woods, and I remember being nine or ten years old and whispering “Bloody Mary” into the mirror in the girl’s room just to see what would happen. I went through a phase when I was maybe fourteen when my best friend acquired a ouija board and had me convinced that the spirit of a teenager who died in 1963 could tell me whether the boy I had a crush on liked me back. Not long ago, I got sucked into some TV show on haunted hotels that was utterly fascinating, and I found myself wondering if I could stay at one or if the prospect of ghosts would freak me out. And I often think, well, ghosts and hauntings probably aren’t real, but there are just enough weird things reported that maybe…

So I don’t really know if ghosts are real. I like them in books, though. One of the fun things about fiction is that you can explore all these things you might not be able to see in real life. In a book, ghosts can definitely be real. They can manipulate time and space. They can visit characters in dreams.

So when I sat down to write my ghost story, Across the East River Bridge, the ghosts being real was a given. Then I had to come up with the rules. Can the ghosts manifest anywhere outside of the house they are haunting? Can they move objects? Can they manipulate people? Are they scary? (Answers: not really, yes, yes, and sometimes.) It’s an interesting angle, I think; if you’re working to solve a murder, wouldn’t it be great to have that Pushing Daisies opportunity to ask the victims how things played out? My ghosts don’t talk, but they do find some creative ways to give our researchers the clues they need to solve the mystery.

Here’s the book blurb:

When Finn’s boss sends him to a museum in Brooklyn, the last person he expects to see is his old rival, Troy. Although Finn and Troy have undeniable sexual chemistry, Finn still blames Troy for sending his career off the rails but Troy has research Finn needs. Troy also has an intriguing story; the museum he curates is haunted by the ghosts of two men who died under mysterious circumstances in 1878. Troy strikes a deal: he’ll help Finn if Finn helps him find out what happened to the men who died.

From diaries, police reports, and newspaper articles, Finn and Troy piece together the lives of the two dead men–and the romance that bloomed between them. As it becomes clear that the men were murdered, it also becomes clear that the ghosts are real and are capable of manipulating the dreams, thoughts, and actions of the living. When Finn and Troy start falling for each other, Finn worries that it’s all an illusion concocted by the ghosts to keep them working together to solve the mystery, but Troy is convinced the love between them is real. But how can he get rid of a couple of ghosts and prove it?

Also check out my website, where you can view the book trailer, read an excerpt, and see the special features, which include historical background, photos, and some suggested reading.

And we’re giving away an ebook copy of Across the East River Bridge! To enter the giveaway, all you have to do is leave a comment describing a ghost story that scared you as a kid. We’ll draw a winner at random at noon EST on Friday, October 28th. Good luck!

The winner of the giveaway is Beatrice! Thank you all for sharing your own ghost stories with us this week. 

Tags: , , , , , ,

11 responses to “Giveaway: Across the East River Bridge by Kate McMurray”

  1. Sarah s says :

    I’m a big scardy cat so every thing still scares me 😀

    The story that scared me most as a child was the story of the the headless monk at an abby near us the story goes that he haunts the ruins and can be see at night

  2. Verena says :

    The scariest story for me as a kid was Bloody Mary. She was the ghost of a woman who murdered her children and when you call her name 3 times, she appears. I was too scared to do that, but my brother said it and my sister, who was wearing a wig, screamed and jumped at me and I was so scared that I hid under the bed for 2 hours…lol.

  3. Beatrice says :

    Like Verena, I was scared by Bloody Mary when I was younger. In my school there was a particular restroom where some upperclassmen apparently tried to summon her. I’m not sure about the authenticity of the story, but these three female upperclassmen did send their story to the editor of a book series featuring “true” ghost stories. Their story got published. I was so affected by the story that every time I went to that particular restroom in school, I had to ask a friend to accompany me.

  4. JoAnn says :

    Ok, this is dumb but when I was a kid I was laying in bed talking to my sisters and put one arm behind my head on the pillow. Without thinking I put my other arm behind my head and touch the arm that was already there. I thought it was ghost or something and scared the sh…t out of myself. To this day I have reservations about putting my arms behind my head when laying down. OMG…I’m scared of myself and now I am completely embarrassed!!!!!

  5. ainsley says :

    I think the one that scared me the most as a kid was the story where the woman is driving and the car behind her keeps flashing its brights, and there was an escaped murderer on the roof or in the backseat or something. But I tried to stay away from scary, hence the not remembering it well.

    If you count being a 20-something kid, the Doctor Who episode Blink gave me nightmares (even though it’s one of a handful of eps I like).

  6. monica says :

    The scariest story would be after watching IT by Stephen King when I was a kid. I keep imaging the clown shadows lurking around my windows with my PC which was in front of my bed keep blinking. I honestly couldnt sleep at all…I had to hold my sister’s hand for comfort during that time.

  7. Kim says :

    The scariest ghost movie I ever watched as a kid was the original “The Haunting” with Julie Harris. The part where the ghost was pounding on walls and trying to get through the door scared the heck out of me.

  8. Maya says :

    LOL! I don’t believe in ghosts (even as a child) so I don’t remember any story scaring me. But as a adult, three of us were fooling around with an Ouija board and it started to spell a name out with a spelling I wasn’t expecting and it scared the Bejebus outta me!!! I refuse to go anywhere near the darn things any longer!

  9. lemonbar77 says :

    Scariest story for me was the one about the escaped convict with a hook for a hand and the teenagers find the hook on their car door after speeding away from a scary sound. It scared me because I heard it on a camping trip and instead of the usual jump-at-you-at-the-end, one of the counselors had snuck away and started scraping metal at the end of the story.

Leave a Reply

