RIP Steve Jobs

Apple / Steve Jobs by Jonathan Mak

Image by Jonathan Mak

“Design is not just what it looks like and feels like. Design is how it works.”
-Steve Jobs

 

Apple IIGS computer

Apple IIGS computer

My first computer was an Apple IIGS. My mom bought it in 1987 or 1988. I was very young, and but I grew up being computer literate by having that thing in our house. When I had “Technology” class in 6th grade (yes, that’s what it was called) we had a room full of Apple IIe computers, with one Apple IIGS that I always tried to use, because it was “newer” and faster, and I had one at home. There was also one Mac, but only a couple of kids who had Macs at home were allowed to use it.

 

Apple IIe computer

Apple IIe computer

Since then I’ve been strictly a PC girl when it comes to computers, but I got an iPhone the year it came out and it truly changed my life. I had a little LG flip phone that didn’t even have a camera and was 3 years old. It’s best feature was a tiny mirror on the outside that let me check my teeth after lunch or fish stray eyelashes out of my eye on the train. I didn’t have to carry a compact when I had that phone, but I was more than happy to start carrying a mirror when I got my iPhone. At the time, I didn’t have a palm pilot, digital camera, mp3 player, or any of those fancy gadgets. The iPhone fulfilled all of those needs, and if it didn’t always work great as a phone (and ended up with a corrupt hard drive), it was still worth it. Four years later I still hate iTunes with a fiery passion and resent having to use it to move content on and off my iPhone, but I’m on my second one – a 3GS I’ve had for exactly two years – and I’m planning to get another within the next year.

 

iPhone 3GS

iPhone 3GS

While I’m not a fan of the Mac OS or iTunes as a program, I can’t fault their design. Apple products are beautiful. And as a designer, I truly appreciate that.

Tags: , , , , ,

Leave a Reply

